What isn’t there

This week I was reminded to pay attention to what isn’t there. I thought I’d pass it on in case you find it helpful somehow.
I was looking at Pay-to-Play voiceover work sites and was initially disheartened by what I saw and heard. So many experienced, amazing-sounding female voice-overs. How would I ever find my way in?
The Mr wisely reminded me it’s not all about skill – it’s mostly about marketing. But still…
Later that day, thinking through what I’d listened to, it struck me that they were all much of a muchness. Different voices, doing kind of the same thing.  I realised what I hadn’t heard.
And that missing thing could just be my key to nudge open the door of voice-over work.
Writing what isn’t there
When writing haiku one ‘trick’ or technique is to notice what isn’t there and write about that, rather than what is.
I’m sure there are lots of times and places in life where, were we to pay attention to what we don’t see, don’t hear, don’t feel, the door of realisation and possibility would spring open.
Have a great weekend.

Quick gloat: After last week’s mentoring misery, I pulled myself together and tuned into another voice-over mentoring session. This time we got the script in advance so no confusion – subject: Gaming characters. Internet crashed entirely so I had to tune in on my phone, but it worked.  And
Nailed it!  YAY!

Leave a comment